Writing with children

• I'm a parent and a writer.

When I did my first NaNoWriMo in 2010, I had a supportive spouse and she watched the kid and gave me time to write. I won that year.

When I did my second NaNoWriMo in 2011, she wasn't particularly supportive. Our second child was a few months old, the eldest was still in diapers. I had a full-time (40 hr/wk) job, and during my non-work hours, I was the primary caretaker of the children to give her time off. I also won that year.

It is possible to do. It's easier when they're old enough that they can work on their own projects in the same room (whether that's art, music, reading or writing). It is possible to write even when they're very young.

Words of advice:

• find something to use as a standing station: Consider using the top of a dresser or small shelf in their play area when they're small. They're happier when they can see you. It's possible for them to literally play at your feet and not bother your writing. They can't smash your keyboard, and they can clearly see there is no lap for them to sit upon.

• consider word sprints, even when alone: Speed-writing helps shut up the inner editor and can allow you to stay focused. The difference in my writing speed when I sprint versus when I "just type" is significant, like 20 WPM different. If you do 10 minutes at your top typing speed with freewriting, you know your top theoretical speed for writing. Do another 10 minutes sprinting a story and you'll likely see a dip between the two due to needing to hold the story in your head. The difference between those two speeds is something you can work on.