Rough worldbuilding ideas

• Okay, so this is the 'worldbuilding vomit' I was talking about posting in another thread. Please bear in mind that I'm not good at this type of thing in general, so if you see a lot of gaps in a specific concept (or every concept I've posted here), it's because I haven't thought of anything to fill them in yet.

My main idea at this point in time is that Sontar (who is posted in the 'share your work' area of this forum) decides he wants to control the world's magic based on a dream he had while going through a less than good time in his life. In the years following, he dedicates himself to finding a way to do just that. Eventually, he succeeds, wedding himself to it and losing his physical body. He's restrained by another being within that magic though, who originally joined herself to it to control how much magic the world gets at once a long time ago. I'm thinking maybe the world's people got greedy and almost put too much magic into the world at one point, so she did it to save them from themselves. Not too sure on that one though, but it's the best I have right now.

So this is where the heroes come in. After Sontar takes control, the world's magic begins 'breaking' somewhat, getting worse as time goes on. This is happening because Sontar is trying to wrest magic control away from the other being and take it for himself. Sontar's eventual goal is to take the broken magic, rearrange it, and use it to begin the world anew so he can write a 'fate' into it. This would control the world's people without their being aware of it. Some people in the world become aware of this, and people split into two factions: people who want the same thing as Sontar, so while suffering is still a thing in the world, it will serve a higher purpose (getting power/other things I haven't thought of yet), and people who feel people should have true free will to do what they want with magic, otherwise the world is a controlled little box.