Editing

• So just out of curiosity, I was wondering if anyone edited their writing while they are writing? I know I don't because If I do I will lose my train of thought. Well I am trying not to but if I type to fast I spell EVERYTHING wrong and those little red lines drive me NUTS.

If you don't edit while you write do you guys edit after you are finished writing the whole thing or do you have specific times to edit?

Wow does that question even make sense. Sorry Its black Friday and I had to work last night and early this morning so I am a little out of it.

• I'm now working on my first full length novel. I writing without editing because otherwise I stay on the first chapter forever. I'm going to edit my text when I have finished the novel i think but I have never done an edit before. I will just be happy if I finish this text since I have a hard time writing longer texts.

How have you planned to edit?

• Plotist Team: Community Storyteller

Very good question @maemeowza - I think that M. R. Mathias said it best in our interview with him (you can see it here) - But he said:

“Your creative side loses its flow when you stop to add that comma.”

Basically writing is a right brain function. Reviewing, editing, is a left brain logical process. The two can conflict horribly. At least that's what I got from him. There is a lot more advice in there, so give it a read :)

As for how I do my editing.

I have three different methods depending on what TYPE of editing I am doing.